My natural hair v. Harmattan

Heyy everyone!
Compliments of the season!
      I’m here with a quick post explaining what I do to keep my hair safe in this dry, harsh harmattan.
     In order to keep my sanity, I’ve had to modify my hair care routine to combat the evils of this weather. Very few modifications but they’ve been quite effective at keeping my hair on my head, rather than on the floor.
  • Protective Style. My hair has been in cornrows (all back) since the weather started changing. I’ve been relying heavily on my wigs and head wraps. 

  • Less Manipulation. I’ve been manipulating my hair less. This is because, with the weather, it’s easy to experience breakage due to the lack of moisture. So, I just leave my hair alone as much as possible.
  • Intense Moisture. Once in 4 or 5 days, I take down my cornrows, do the LCO and then braid it back up. (This is the only time I allow myself to be heavy-handed with products) Also, I maintain my sections when doing this so, I take down one section, moisturise, and braid it back up before moving to another section. This way, everything is organized and my hair has no opportunity to get tangled.
Whenever my hair feels dry in between, I take my spray bottle filled with water and mist my hair.
  • No Combs. I’ve been avoiding combs like a plague! I detangle only with my fingers and this way, I lose less hair.
  • Oil scalp. I’ve been oiling my scalp with the Caddomint oil to keep my scalp from getting dry and flaky. It’s a very light oil and I abstain from heavier oils on my scalp because they can cause product build-up and make my scalp start to itch. I only wash my hair once in about 10-12 days so I definitely do not want product build-up.
  • Silk scarf. I never forget to wrap my hair with a silk scarf every night before bed. (Oh and I must be sleeping like a human being because my scarf has been staying on my head😊) IMG_20171128_192013

So those are the little changes I’ve made to protect my hair from damage for the duration of the harmattan.
     I hope Christmas was fun for you!
1512325975103
     Have you been protecting your hair from the weather?

3 thoughts on “My natural hair v. Harmattan

Leave a comment